ccwestt logo

Navigating Youth Outreach as Women in STEM: a fireside conversation with Helen and Jennifer

Navigating Youth Outreach as Women in STEM

Tuesday May 16, 2023

2:30 pm NT, 2:00 pm AT, 1:00 pm ET, 12:00 pm CT, 11:00 am MT, 10:00 am PT

Every year in May, hundreds of science outreach leaders host Science Odyssey events, delivering fun, engaging and inspiring activities to Canadians of all ages. As part of the CCWESTT 30th Anniversary Series, our May event features presentations from STEM outreach professionals Helen Yip and Jennifer Ladipo followed by a fireside conversation about their STEM outreach experiences – from preventing burnout to the fulfillment that comes from working with youth. 

 

Event:  Navigating Youth Outreach as Women in STEM: a fireside conversation with Helen and Jennifer

Date:   Tuesday May 16, 2023

Time:   2:30 pm NT, 2:00 pm AT, 1:00 pm ET, 12:00 pm CT, 11:00 am MT, 10:00 am PT

Place:  Zoom

Registration: https://us02web.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_SemGYWGyReKCXVbKFqi80w 

 

We look forward to seeing you there! 

 

Speakers:

Helen Yip (she/her) is the Outreach Coordinator at WISEST (Women in Scholarship, Engineering, Science and Technology), based at the University of Alberta. Helen resides on Treaty 6 territory in amiskwacîwâskahikan, also known as Edmonton. Helen has both a BSc and MSc in biology and combines her love of science and promoting equity, diversity and inclusion in STEM to her role at WISEST.

 

Jennifer Ladipo (she/her) is an Industrial Engineer, who graduated from Dalhousie University and has a passion for leading young women into the creative world of STEM. She combined her love for mathematics and writing to create thestemgirl.com, an initiative aimed at encouraging young girls to view themselves in both a feminine and scientific light through storytelling. With four published fiction books, and one non-fiction book, she continues to find new ways to describe what fun STEM can be through adventurous tales. She is also the National Program Manager at Actua and is responsible for being a champion around engaging priority youth audiences and guiding the delivery of programs nationally.

Share This Post