ccwestt logo

Diversity of Tradeswomen+ in Construction from Coast to Coast

We are Trades event

Thursday, April 27, 2023

1:30 pm NT, 1:00 pm AT, 12:00 pm ET, 11:00 am CT, 10:00 am MT, 9:00 am PT

Our 30th Anniversary Series of events continues! CCWESTT and New Boots are partnering to present a national panel discussion showcasing the diversity of tradeswomen in construction in Canada. 

 

Tune in to learn more about their challenges and successes as working women in the construction industry. 

 

Event:  Diversity of Tradeswomen+ in Construction from Coast to Coast

Date:   Thursday, April 27, 2023

Time:   1:30 pm NT, 1:00 pm AT, 12:00 pm ET, 11:00 am CT, 10:00 am MT, 9:00 am PT

Place:  Zoom

Registration: https://us02web.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_L1zwpA_XR92JFEcyso2_qw 

We look forward to seeing you there! 

 

Moderator:

France is a seasoned executive having held various leadership roles in large national organizations. She is currently the CEO of the Canadian Apprenticeship Forum and is a promoter and believer of apprenticeship as a viable and equitable educational pathway in Canada and an advocate for better inclusion of unrepresented people in the skilled trades.

 

Speakers:

Jove Nazatul (they/them) is a trans, non-binary, queer, immigrant of colour. Jove is a Regional Representative of the BC Centre for Women in the Trades and the first trans, non-binary person to be elected a Board Director of the Canadian Apprenticeship Forum.

 

Certified in 3 Skilled Trades, Ashley Ritchie has a dream of becoming the Dean of Trades. Currently holding the role of Academic Chair for Building and Construction at New Brunswick Community College, she is responsible for operationalizing trades programs that enable learners to embrace their full potential and contribute to social and economic well-being through lifelong learning.

 

Genevieve Ellis is a Journeyperson Boilermaker Welder. Genevieve is currently Welding Supervisor for Shoreline Power Group at Bruce Power on the Major Component Replacement Project.

 

Shylah Nokusis comes from the Peepeekisis Cree Nation in Treaty #4 near Fort Qu’Appelle, Saskatchewan. She is a Red Seal Journeyman Carpenter. In 2020, she created Osihcikewin “To Build,” an Indigenous company that offers exploratory trades programs in Indigenous communities. In 2022, she was selected to participate in Canadian Apprenticeship Forum’s National Leadership Development Program for Tradeswomen.

 

This project has been funded by Women and Gender Equality Canada.

Share This Post